This coming weekend, I’ve got my first ever ultra.

Its 45 miles from the market town of Wendover, into central London, with a good half of the race along the canal towpath of the Grand Union Canal.

I’m nervous. My longest previous run has been a marathon, and I’ve only managed one of those without walking a little.

The forecast is for very cold weather, possible snow and certainly freezing conditions.

So, the unanswerable questions in my head are what do I do if my water freezes up in CamelBak?, will I be able to feel my feet after a few miles?

Hey Ho. Its a voyage of discovery.

One thing is for sure…. I am meeting a few pirates Friday evening beforehand, and then afterwards we’ll have a few drinks. That could be messy.

Possible live tweeting from the course is forecast!

